Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well...I have been lurking here for a couple of weeks and decided what the heck...I will sign on!!!

I am not a scooter owner as of yet...but should I purchase one it WILL be a Burgman. The problem I see in my area right now...there are NONE...NOTA...NOTHING!!! But I am not in a hurry to purchase either.

I have a friend who rides a Big Dog Chopper who has peeked my interest into the scooter end of bikes. I am interested in the Scooter for numerous reasons...mainly my 05 Tahoe Z71 is robbing me blind with gas costs...read my profile...I am a high school teacher and I DON'T make loads of dough!!! I live 1.5 miles from my school and thought a scooter would be the answer to my gas pains for the time being. I figure if I just drove it to work and home I would get by on 2 fill ups per year!!! I would definitely take it out the more I get comfortable with it...see I have never riden a 2 wheeler except the kind that has "TREK" written on it. The thought of going 60+ MPH does make me nervous...but hey...no one says you have to take it on the freeway to enjoy it!!!

I have contacted my local community college about the MSF class. The enquiry was due to my local Suzuki salesman said that taking the MSF course would do me NO good since I was riding a scooter and not a motorcycle. I have yet to hear back from the gentleman regarding my questions relating to participating in the class with a scooter. We'll see if I get an answer.

I have certainly enjoyed this forum and I hope that you kind folks can help a TRUE NOOB to this fascinating new mode of transportation.

Gordon