Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

· Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really like riding this scooter, but had I known what a PITA it is to remove bodywork on this scooter, I may not have bought one.
How about you?

Admittedly, this is my first time removing bodywork to get to the sidestand switch connector, so it's p;robably not surprising to some of you that it took me 2 hours to get the switch connector exp;osed.

· Registered
1,714 Posts
I can compare it to my other sym scooter. the plastic quality is far better on the burg for sure, but whats annoying is why the heck did they feel they need so many different fasteners for one plastic. just use 1 size screws or bolts and be done with it. the side leg shields is really annoying to remove. those push pins are a nightmare. and the bottom connecting plastic is annoying to deal with.

biggest annoyance is the cvt box. why couldnt they use just one one size bolt for the plastic cover and one for the metal shield all around? how ridiculous that all of the 10 bolts all around are different sized. the sym has 4 bolts for the plastic cover and all the same size, and the metal cover is with 13 bolts all the same except the middle which is long. air filter box is also another thing. not easy to close the cover. its a battle.

and why they couldnt design the gear oil drain out of the cover for easy maintenance. and that annoying cvt gasket. it never stays in place. glad the sym doesnt have one. also the spedometer cable..cmon now.

but there are smarter designs they did with the burg then the sym.

· Registered
199 Posts
I agree with the front leg shield being a PITA. Removing the rear side panels and passenger foot rests is a nightmare. Using screws to hold these parts together would've been easier to work on. The look of the burg is clean due to no visible screws. It's a mess but I'd still get a newer version of the big bad Burg if Suzy puts out a modern one. Maybe! 🤔

· Premium Member