Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently started riding my 2013 Burgman 650 to work once in a while. I have the Givi Windshield installed, which is larger than the stock one. I'm not sure what it is, but i've noticed that when I'm up at speeds past 70mph, it is very turbulent. I just bought a new Shoei RF-1200 Helmet, which helped a lot in quieting down the wind noise and head movement, but it still seems more turbulent than I remember when I rode my 2004 GSXR1000 with a small windshield.

Is anyone experiencing the same thing?:confused:

Thanks!
Eric

·
Registered
243 Posts
I have the same setup, a 2013 and the Givi. I previously had a '05 and an '11 that I had a Clearview shield on. I don't think there is much difference between the Clearview and the Givi as far as additional turbulence, but each has a little more than the stock windshield. I did add the vent to my Givi and tend to keep it open even in winter riding. Maybe you should give that a try.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Jetfixer. Would you mind posting a link to the "vent" you mentioned?

Do you have a pic of it installed on your Burgman?

·
Registered
35 Posts
I have the vent on my clearview and I don't see any difference with turbulence with it open or closed. I don't think that's going to be a solution to your problem.

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
I think the vents on most windscreens are just to prevent back pressure from building up. Otherwise you get a low pressure zone in front of the rider and high pressure zone in back, thus pushing the rider forwards. I doubt the vents do much for turbulence.

·
Registered
2,936 Posts
I don't know how much louvers would impair the air flow, but 2 2" holes at the bottom of my Givi screen worked wonders, which merely chopping nearly 3" of the top off didn't on its own.

·
Registered
243 Posts

·
Registered
630 Posts