Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m looking for advice – pros and cons about what to buy. I noticed that many of the contributors to this forum have Burgmans and have or had something else. So I’m hoping to draw on your collective experience.

About me: I’m a middle-aged newbie. After years of trying to convince my wife that I won’t kill myself, she finally agreed. I took the Motorcycle Safety course offered by the state of Pennsylvania and got my license at the end of the course. So I have no motorcycle experience other than that course. (Actually, there was some illegal motorcycle riding 30+ years ago, but we won’t talk about that. And I’ve ridden bicycles all my life.) The motorcycles used in the course were primarily Honda Nighthawks (250 cc) or equivalent. I’m 5’ 11” and weigh 200 lbs.

Where I live: I live in an area that is definitely suburbs, outside of Philadelphia. 30 years ago this area was rural, but it’s undergone tremendous growth since then. However, if I go 15 miles north or west, I’m in the country again. If I go 15 miles south or east, I’m effectively in the city (very dense suburbs). The topography is rolling hills, criss-crossed by creeks & streams. It’s a historic area, you can literally say “George Washington slept here”, about 15 miles away from Valley Forge. This is relevant when I discuss the roads (below).