Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Hope each and everyone of you is doing great! I'm in LA and I have been riding scooters since 2009 starting with a 150cc all the way up to 250cc, two of them. They were all made in china and I had nothing but trouble with them. My mechanics both here in LA and even in South Florida would always ask why I bought Chinese. My reply was that I can't afford better!

Anyways, day before Halloween I purchased off of Craigslist a 2003 Burgman 650cc with 65,000 miles for $1,400. It was very well taken care of inside and out. I figured even though 65k for a scooter is a little too high, for such a top of the line scooter, I should get a good 3 more years out of it doing minor servicing along the way.

Boy was I wrong. Just a week later I was cruising down the road at 35mph I hear a bank and for the next 1.5 miles the engine was making a very loud almost chainsaw noise. The scooter lost compression and ultimately shut down. It refused to start. Obviously something wrong with the engine, BIG TIMES.

I think it ran out of oil? To be perfectly accurate, the previous owner said oil change is needed within 1000 miles, I had ridden it for 444 and for 3 days before that, the change oil indicator came on and when I stop the scooter, light but smelly smoke would bellow up from below while drops of oil hit the ground.

This is what lead me to believe the my engine breakdown was because of no oil. In an act of desperation, I poured in a whole bottle of oil, but no luck, the damage was done. Since an entire bottle was poured in with no back flow, more proof that there was no oil? Am I accurate to think that? I don't know where to check if there was any oil there or not. This just goes to show you how new I am to this bike.