Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Morning all,
I have a 2015 Burgman 650 with 20,000 miles and as we are on partial lockdown in the UK decided to give the bike a full service including valve check (1st Check) which I have never done before so need a bit of advice please.
All info found is from Le dude can some one please confirm the settings are the same for 2015 model as 2012 model.
In .10--.20 mm .004-.008"
Ex .20-.30mm .008-.012"
Torque settings 14Nm Camshaft covers
For those that have needed adjustment what milage was on your bike and which shims needed setting?
Can the rockercover seal be reused?
Trying to pre order shimms before UK goes into full shutdown, hopefully none will be needed.

Thanks for your help in advance

Chelsea

·
Premium Member
8,033 Posts
Good luck Chelsea, remember rule number 1, no refreshing beverages during maintenance actions, only after checkride complete and a (shudder) bath.

·
Premium Member
2,798 Posts
Chelsea, wise use of time buddy, You can’t keep a Good Burg Man down !

What I have read is that most guys find them ok at 20k mile mark. But I don’t want to discourage you from checking.

I hope you are free to move two minutes before you have everything buttoned up.

·
Premium Member
14,207 Posts
My experience is that adjustment is not needed until around 50,000 miles (80,000 kilometers). Have not yet seen one that needed adjusting because it is to loose, always to tight. So if you preorder shims order thinner ones not thicker ones. I ordered a full shim kit that goes from 1.20 mm to 3.50 mm. I check mine at about 25,000 mile intervals and have only had to adjust them twice. I have also helped two friends adjust the valves on theirs each time taking shims from my kit. I used up nearly all the shims in the kit smaller than 1.80 mm. Had to order more. On the plus side I now have lots of extra shims in the 1.80 mm to 2.00 mm sizes provided I ever have a need for them.

·