Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Maybe this belongs with Newbie Questions: I have been riding off and on for many years, but never (since I was a silly, reckless kid) touring far from home.

I want to do that now (touring, that is), but I have to wonder about service, especially in regard to tires. In a car this is no problem: you carry a spare, and changing the tire is straightforward. If you need a new tire, almost any garage can supply one immediately.

On a bike/scooter, though, it's different. I have always believed it is dangerous to repair a motorcycle tire. Changing one is a major exercise, and no bike I know of carries a spare. Two spares, really, for bikes with unlike tires. One hears that it is common to have to wait days, even weeks, to get a new tire at a cycle dealer.

So the question, for all you experienced tourers: how do you deal with this? How do you insure against getting stranded for a week six states from home? Do you just figure it won't happen, as a certain silly, reckless kid once did. (Fortunately he was lucky, too.) Or is there a way to beat the problem?

Thanks in advance for your replies.

·
Registered
250 Posts
Hi Mike.

I always insert some Ultraseal anti-puncture compound into my bike tyres.Other brands are also available (I'm in the UK but I believe that Ultraseal is also available over there).

You can find out more about this stuff here .

(They will deliver to the USA).

·
Super Moderator
8,074 Posts
Most of us carry a tire plug kit, they cost about $2, and a small 12V compressor. (or co2 cartridges). The only tire failuer I ever heard of is nail puncture. as lung as the nail dosent go through the sidewall the plugs work pretty good, untill you get a new tire. Some members use some type of self seal agent in their tires. Some they can have some issues while others say no problem.