Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am new to working on scooters and am in the process of changing all fluids. I have the factory manual (download copy)and have changed the engine oil and filter. Cleaned the air filter.....after I located that. lol. Changed the gear oil in the rear drive. What I am stumped with is locating the fill plug for the Transmission fluid. I have found the drain plug and filler level plug. Also when I drained the Transmission fluid it actually looked like Car Transmission fluid. It was red in color and looked nothing like regular motor oil. The manual calls for 10w-40 with a certain API call out. Could someone point me in the right direction of the fill plug? The copy of the manual I have isn't very legible. Do you have to remove any tupperware to access it? Thanks in advance.

This is on a k6 650.

·
Registered
704 Posts
I bought a syringe at Walmart for mixing gas but instead use it to fill the transmission thru the oil level plug. This way I don't need to remove the tupperware. Only need to remove two pieces of plastic, the maintenance cover and final drive cover. Gets the job done quick and easy.

·
Premium Member
794 Posts
Maybe a procedure you might want to use.

A small catsup dispenser (kind you see in restuarant that has a screw on cap and a pointed nipple). It holds just the right amount of oil. PLUS, can be used for the Final Drive oil by the same method.

Fill catsup bottle with oil, may need to cut a bit off the niple to make a wider hole, then attach a plasitc tube about a foot long (one that will fit into the LEVEL HOLE).

Note: LEVEL HOLE - Put the tube in the Level Hole and squeeze the catsup bottle to force the oil in to the transmission. Let it overfill a bit, and then let it drain until it stops flowing.

Use center stand of course to keep scooter leverl. and catch access in a pan or rag.

·
Premium Member
4,516 Posts