Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
One of the considerations I've had towards deciding on the 650 was what I was told by a friend of mine who is 23 but has been riding since the earliest age Colorado let him do so. He recommended that since I am new to bike's and I'll be doing mostly highway riding, that I get the 650 BECAUSE of the weight. He said that due to my inexperience on motorcycles, a lighter bike might be too heavily affected by the wind(on highway's) and a the 650 would be alot easier for me to handle as it is not so much affected by said wind.

Can anyone here argue for or against my friend on this?

·
Registered
1,068 Posts
Rice_klowN

My goldwing is 800# dry and the Burger King is 525#. I cannot honestly feel much difference between the two despite the 275# difference.

The Ninja comes in at 300#, IS more affected by winds, but not to the extent you would think considering it's 500# lighter.

My brother-in-law is an engineer for Boeing. His opinion is that coefficient of drag is the primary factor. He feels that since the design teams at Honda etc. have probably reduced the coeffieient of drag of the machine with wind tunnel testing etc, it leaves the factor of "sail" increasing the drag.

he defines "sail" as the riders posture, a passenger, lugguge etc. Anything other than the bike itself that can catch the wind and thereby affect the bikes handling. It seemed to explain why the Ninja isn't much worse off than the Wing. Small "sail" vs large "sail". I doubt there is much difference between the 650 and 400.

You are going to get tossed once in a while and have a few "white knuckle" experiences no matter what you ride. Experience will teach you to anticipate many of the blasts, but you will always be hit by those "ghost" winds that appear out of nowhere.