Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
**I am not a total newbie, but thought this would be the best forum for this post***

After installing my new Airflow shield, had a chance to take a ride and test it out. Since the temps were upper 80s, I opted to leave the extension panel wrapped up under the seat so that more air would hit my chest/shoulders. It was GREAT!!! I love the lower profile and the width as well. Just makes the front end seem more substantial.

Anyway, the route I took was fairly challenging with multiple switchbacks, hairpins and decreasing radius curves up and down hill. When I have ridden these types of roads on standard motorcycles (read manual tranny), I would do a good deal of using engine braking and down-shifting to avoid constant application of the actual brakes. Going back to the MSF training, I recall the 4 steps they taught – Slow, Look, Press and Roll. However, there were times when this seemed a bit difficult to accomplish on the scoot. For instance, with multiple switchbacks on a downhill path, I was picking up speed going through them and felt the need to apply some rear brake. Yet, the MSF instructor cautioned against ever using the brake, even the rear, when leaning due to the reduced traction. I get that, but without applying a bit of brake, how do you slow enough when gaining speed and taking curves? Another issue I noticed was when I needed to slow to the point of essentially having the clutch disengage – i.e. a hairpin turn. Rather than just be coasting, I used the rear while keeping the revs up a bit. But again, this is contrary to the instructor's advice.