Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
367 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks, I have read quite a few posts on the forum regarding "blipping" the throttle on the 08 and up 400s to get the clutch to engage before take off. Although I have been riding various bikes for around 10 years, I am not familiar with all the terminology. When someone says "blip", I envision holding the rear brake and opening the throttle until the revs hit the desired point and then releasing the brake and driving off. What I need to know is whether this is the correct technique, or if I should be doing things differently? On my 2005 400, the clutch seemed to engage much sooner so this new bike is my first experience with this sort of situation.

On a related note, I have also done a number of searches and read multiple posts about the DP sliders and their impact on the clutch operation of the bike. Specifically, that certain weights - maybe 18g and 19g - will cause the clutch to engage sooner. I am not a racer and am not looking for a ton of takeoff power from a stop. Just looking to not feel like I am going WOT to get underway. My partner took my 400 out for a quick spin earlier this week. We both had 2005 400s a few years ago so she is somewhat familiar with how those bikes operated. When she gingerly opened the throttle and nothing happened (no forward movement), she started checking to insure the parking brake was not on or something "sticking" and asked me what she was doing wrong. I explained that this one takes a little more throttle to get underway. Since I am not familiar with all the terminology of the clutch (like what exactly the "bell" is) and variator (is that part of the clutch?), I cannot figure out from all the posts whether the lighter sliders will help with this particular issue and which ones are preferred for this purpose.

Thanks in advance for any insight or advise you all can provide. :confused:

·
I'm Retired
9,364 Posts