Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to riding, and have noticed riders on other cycles wave to me with the left arm extended down, often with 2 fingers extended, either palm down our palm up. Is this a Texas thing, or generic? This wasn't covered in the rider course!

·
Registered
925 Posts
It's definately not just a Texas thing. That's the way 99% of all the bike riders I have ever seen wave. Just their own special way of saying "hi".

·
Registered
1,686 Posts
Left arm down. Normal.

It's almost a secret, subtle wave. Some places have laws requiring both hands stay on the handlebars (Wichita, KS, for example). The left hand down is about a daring as one would get with that law in place. Of course the left hand is nearest a passing rider, and it's the one least required to run the bike. A naturally evolved wave.

I think it's great.

Dave B.

·
Registered
125 Posts
It also has to do with wind resistance. If you have ever stuck your arm out the window of a moving vehicle, you see why. At any speed at all, it will pull your arm back, which could have a bad effect if you're on a motorcycle/scooter. The lowered arm, fingers out provides the least resistance.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks

Very good. I didn't want to unknowingly flash some signal other than 'hi'.

·
Registered
572 Posts
I went out for a ride Monday evening (end of a long weekend) and it was the first time I encountered so many other bikers. Being a newbie I wasn't used to so many people giving me the wave--it was all I could do to keep alert to traffic and acknowledge people when I could by nodding or lifting two fingers off the grip. I hope they didn't think I was being snobbish--I'm just not comfortable taking my hands of the grips, yet :wink:.

·
Registered
42 Posts