Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a real newbie, owned a 650 for about 24 hours now. So if this has been discussed to death in the past, please forgive me, but I need a little help.

My speedometer reads real fast. At least 10%, maybe more. When it reads 71, I am acutally doing 65mph. A reading of 78 means I'm doing 70ish. Is this normal for the Burgman? And is there any adjustment my dealer can make?

BTW, when it says 35 mph I'm actually running 35....go figure.

I'm not trying to be nitty, but I would really like to know what speed I am running and not have to guess at it.

Thanks in advance,
Vanzo

·
Registered
409 Posts
I always suspected that my speedo was way off, so I mounted my gps unit to the Burgman. It reads a consistent 10% fast throughout the range.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I always suspected that my speedo was way off, so I mounted my gps unit to the Burgman.
The last time my speedo came way off, I WAS ARRESTED!! :D

Sorry, I just couldn'd help myself!!

Vanzo

·
Registered
5,363 Posts
Yep, it has been discussed to death. :lol: And you'd have the same issue if you bought a Suzuki motorcycle (or many other brands of motorcycles). I don't know why they do that. I wish they wouldn't do that. But they do insist on doing that. So I mentally adjust for the 10% error, and enjoy the rest of my ride.

·
Registered
2,385 Posts
I don't even think about it anymore, Most times I just run 5 mph over the posted speed and forget it.
At least it's hard to get a speeding ticket that way. :lol:

·
Registered
1,686 Posts