Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding the Big Burg for a few years now and besides a few issues (suspension, mostly sorted) it's been an ideal mount. Thing is, I'm worried about losing my motorcycle shifting skills--I enjoyed that aspect of riding. So I've been toying with getting a CBR125 just to keep the muscles busy. It's small on everything, gas/insurance/maintenance/hp. I know it's no freeway monster (tested the first NA model, maybe about 110km/h max). What I want to know generally is: how dangerous is slow accelaration and restricted top speed? Are there more close calls in traffic than on more powerful machines? I know I don't need 100hp, nor even 50hp. My old gs500 did fine with 35. Bigger isn't always better, but when is small too small?

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
250 was the cutoff for me, and even then I wanted some more for the freeway. The Burg 400 was the answer. But if you want a shifter, Ninja 250 perhaps?

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
The CBR125 was never offered in the USA. Canada got it for a few years. It was designed and build in Malaysia or Thailand or someplace over in SE Asia. Huge following over there with lots of parts. The new one coming very soon is the CBR300 and it's naked sister the CB300F. There is also the older CBR250, might still be a few on dealer's floors for really low prices.

As to traffic issues - I went 6 years on a 50cc scoot. For smaller cities it is great but I would say a 125 is as small as one should go for anyplace big. And for sure if you ever want to go on a street 45mph or faster it is a necessity.

·
Registered
198 Posts