Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
****. I really thought I knew what I was doing for a second. Been riding since 2006 and somehow the bikes I buy always have old hockey pucks on the rims. So I was determined to learn the ancient art of tire changing. Read, watch, buy tools, fail, read again, watch again, buy more tools. Each time it seems a bit easier, plus a new wrinkle depending on the tire/rim/bike. Tried all the tricks, came up with a few myself. No genius, just thick-skulled determination.

Got the old Bridgestone stockers off the 650 and have been rolling on Michelin Pilot Sports ever since. Decent tires, but the front is hitting the wear bars now. The rear still has some fight in it, oddly enough. Maybe all that coasting and braking during the commute does it. Not much opportunity to twist the wrist on Toronto's roads. Anyhow, decided to try a new TH01. I'm a pro, right? Off with the old and....****! The Bridgestone fought me every 25.4mm of the way. Three Motion pro levers, homemade stand to protect the rotors, beautiful day and a beer. I was worried it was going to tear the bead right out! Backed off and quadruple checked everything. Sun-warmed tire, recent date on sidewall, clean rims, tons of windex and it still took three hours. Okay, spot of bad luck or bad techinique, right? On to the easy part, setting the bead. Easy.

Three differnent compressors, a bottle of Windex, a ratchet strap and multiple attempts never came close. Just lots of bubbles and sore knees. WHAT THE :confused:? Surely I'm missing something, however small. A tiny mouse of a clue. Something elementary. Are TH01s always this miserable? The Pilots popped into place with a BICYCLE PUMP! Thanks for the help. ladies and gentlemen.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Only thing I can think of is the Windex isn't the greatest of lubricants. I would abandon the Windex in favor of some 75/25 dishsoap and water...much more slippery.

Ed

·