Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please go easy on me, I'm a total beginner.
I KNOW hands shouldn't come off the handlebars but if I take them off then the steering and front tire start shaking and jerking violently side to side after about 2 seconds. Not always. Is it just the road not being smooth or is there something I need to get checked?
Thank you

·
Registered
204 Posts
This is the first stage of a "tank slapper" where the bars go so violently from side to side you lose all control and crash. Can be fatal. Watch some Youtube vids. Some owners report this occurs when they have a rear trunk loaded. Can be caused also by worn wheel bearings front or rear, worn swingarm bearings or worn/loose steering head bearings. How are your tires? Are they mismatched by maker or radial and bias mixed? Lotta stuff to look at.....

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This is the first stage of a "tank slapper" where the bars go so violently from side to side you lose all control and crash. Can be fatal. Watch some Youtube vids. Some owners report this occurs when they have a rear trunk loaded. Can be caused also by worn wheel bearings front or rear, worn swingarm bearings or worn/loose steering head bearings. How are your tires? Are they mismatched by maker or radial and bias mixed? Lotta stuff to look at.....
Thanks for the reply.Its a brand new bike I've only done 550 miles on it. Tyres are new and OEM.

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
Adjust your rear shocks to a higher setting and stop taking your hands off the bars you may have a mishap if you hit a bump or pothole and as noted above get a tank slapper which can rarely be saved it's normally tarmac interface time when it happens

·
Registered
1,920 Posts