Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is not the first time this has happened to me. I'm sure it has happened to others in the forum.

I'm gearing up in the parking lot getting ready to ride home. (It was raining in the morning, so I'm the only bike in the motorcycle parking area). A guy walks by, comes up to me, comments positively on my 400, and then asks, "What's it do, 50?" I'm somewhat taken aback, and don't have an immediate clever retort. (Jeez, my 150 Blackjack goes faster than 50!) I tell him a little about the Burgman, top speed, displacement, weight. He is a little surprised.

Now, I'm by no means an expert on all things 2-wheeled, but in looking at a bike or scooter I can come to some reasonable assumptions about performance. I can differentiate between a Honda Rebel versus a Goldwing, just as easily as between a 50cc Ruckus versus a Vespa 300GT. How can you look at a maxi-scooter and think it tops out at 50?

I asked him if he rode. He replied that he rode a Vulcan, then added "a cruiser"...."a Kawasaki". He did not know the weight of the bike nor did he tell me the displacement. I asked him why he wasn't riding in, and he made an excuse that he didn't have any luggage. In 4 years of parking in this state employee lot, I have never seen him on a bike.

When I shared this story with my wife, wondering incredulously how someone could not know the specifications of his ride, she responded that not everyone is a geek like me.

I admit, I'm somewhat of a geek (nerd?) about stuff. But how can you look at a scooter and not have a clue?

OK. Rant over. I must just be overly sensitive today.

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
How can you look at a maxi-scooter and think it tops out at 50?
Because of cheap Chinese POS scooters! They make some models that look big but have small underpowered engines in them.

BUT you are right - most people are simply ignorant of scooters.