Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up the bike yesterday evening from the dealer and rode it home on a beautiful NYC spring day (60 degrees +). My wife drove behind me in our car in case the absolute worst happened (I'm a newbie). I have to admit, I was terrified at first. However, when I took off from the dealer's lot and started riding, I began to feel really comfortable. The ride home had a little bit of everything; twisting and bumpy roads (Arthur Kill Road), some wet spots from previous rain and finally a 6 mile stretch of highway that I had to take. After we got to our condo complex, I told the wife that I would be back in a while, then took off riding on my own. Here are my impressions:

The bike is extremely comfortable. I felt that I could go for a long time on the seat. The exhaust note is very "sweet" sounding, like a tenor voice as apposed to a barritone (wierd description, sorry). It did not sound like a scooter at all (that lawnmower sound that small displacement scoots are famous for). The sound it produced was reminiscent of a larger displacement motorcycle.

On the twisties, I took some wide turns, but it was definately my inexperienced riding that was to blame (forgot to look through the turn as my MSF instructors kept yelling at me to do). Won't happen again.

On the highway, I got her up to as high as 60 mph. The engine did not seem to be working very hard at that speed. I did forget to check the tack meter though. She felt very smooth. I didn't want to push it beyond that, since it is still in the break-in period. The highway experience was sensational. At 55 mph, I was passed by three cruiser riders, who must have been doing at least 75. I wonder if they passed me on purpose?! :wink: