Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I am a newbie 400 rider (260 miles) and I wanted to see if by taking the back seat rest off, it would give me a little more leg room. I went out for a nice 120 mile ride last weekend and thought about stretching my legs a bit more. OK that said, I tried to unscrew the two screws that I believe are attached to the back rest and they were toqued so hard that I stripped both! Personally, they stripped a little too easily...I am not a muscle bound guy...

Ugh!!! Now I have to get something to get those puppies out.

Before I mess things up any more I was wondering if there was any illustrations on the forum for a simple how to and what to do with what I assume will be two holes in the backrest once I take the moveable rest out. This, of course, assumes I'll actually get the torqued screws out in the first place. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
A good pair of vice grip pliers will help immensely. Get a good grip, lock 'em up tight & turn 'em out.

Don't worry about reusing or even replacing the screws, they are only there to keep the backrest adjustment bars from coming out of the seat. They really aren't necessary.

Hope this helps...

·
Premium Member
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, Wyldman. Any ideas about the holes that I will be leaving once the backrest is out?

·
Premium Member
17 Posts
I simply can't believe it's that simple. I can't find those two set screws that are supposed to be so tight. I've had the two larger screws that aren't supposed to be removed off, and taken off the underseat light fixture, I've positioned the back rest as for as it will go both ways . . . and I still don't see those screws. Under the seat, right?

I've even bought the 2008 Service Manual, and as near as I can tell it's not in there.