Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the forum, and doing research for a future scooter. What I'm wondering is for a fa...I mean big guy, :rolleyes:, how is the 400 with some gear loaded on it? I am 265 lbs. so I would like to hear from those 250 plus. I'd be using it for longer trips with a full top case and maybe a bag strapped on plus what's in the under seat storage. I'm talking quite a bit of freeway, as I live in Southern California and it's necessary, and a lot of 100 mile freeway trips to San Diego.

Will the 400 be okay, or should I go for the 650? I have been riding all my life, so I don't want the smaler scoot because I'm a beginner, more for the gas mileage. That said, with my big butt in the seat and loaded for bear, the mileage might be a wash?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
First off, I love the 400 and highly recommend it to anyone. It's a great general purpose bike. Small enough to be fun and maneuverable, large enough to be practical and useful. It's my favorite bike ever.

Be that as it may, it is smaller engined and is affected by, ahem... Load. My fly-weight friend gets a full 7 mpg better than heavy-weight me. But im still getting 60 mpg. And I'm sure performance is affected as well, given my two-up experience. But the bike handles it in stride. You might have to deglaze the clutch every 5k miles, like me, but it's not a big deal.

So the bike will work for you, but don't expect it to be a rocket ship. It will gladly get you to 85+ mph and keep you there all day long in comfort, 100 mile trips won't be a problem at all. And you'll probably like the size; seating is the same as the 650, but lower. You're in CA, the 400 is a great commuter and lane-splitter.