Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
748 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We're getting ready for another trip, which will be 2 short days up, and one 7 hour day back. We've been lucky enough to elude rain all but once, so I have a question or two for the big touring guys.
We both have good rain gear, but I have very little experience on wet roads, with that, if visability is ok, how fast do you go? I believe I knocked it down from 60mph to about 50mph the one time we got caught.
If the weather gets severe, say, lightning, do you stop? Or it would have to be heavy rain and windy before you would stop?
When you stop, what are a few tips on where to 'sit it out'.
Just looking for some foul weather tips I guess.
Thanks,
Mike.

·
Registered
515 Posts
I stop when lightning is banging around, the rain makes me a bit more cautious and I tend to slow down. It really depends on the intensity and conditions at any given time. Just think a bit , if you are uncomfortable stop.

As a former road racer I learned that you can still maintain a good pace in the rain , you just have to concentrate more and make every move real smoothly

·
Registered
3,142 Posts
I'll generally ride through anything short of a micro-burst or near tornado - been in both as sometimes I feel safer staying traffic near a sensible driver than trying to pull over unless it's a rest stop or some such.

I find it's hard to be dry unless you really are careful with the seals around the neck and front.
I give up on hands and feet - just let them dry tho I got some new RedHat hunting boots I'm very pleased with for riding and they look like they might stay dry.

I've given up on breathable....it wets out and leaks...so it's PVC all the way - hi-Viz iCon works very well if I seal the neck - even better if I put the hood up.

and I can be seen. Durable - on my 4th season and I use it for warmth over my mesh jacket.

If the boots work I'll try for a glove solution.

On sale just now.