Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding for about 20 years, but always been a fair weather rider. I wanted to ride more but it's tough because here on the gulf coast it's likely to be sunny all day and then start storming right when I leave work. About 2 months ago I decided to quit worrying about it and start riding everyday. Well, it's been going great. I've got caught in a couple of showers and I did fine. I will admit to being slightly nervous, but I feel I overcame it well.

But then today I had a real bad ride home. It started raining hard on me half way home. Just after that I made the mistake of hitting an unfamiliar curve a bit too fast. I really thought I was gonna lose it. I barely managed not to go down, but it scared me. Not a minute later a truck came up and changed lanes right into me. I hit the white line and just narrowly avoided him.

After that I had to pull over. I was shaken. I really didn't want to ride home, but I had no choice. I eventually got back on the road and eased on home. I didn't feel good until I got back on a familiar road close to home.

My question is, how did you foul weather riders get comfortable riding in the rain? Will I eventually get more comfortable doing this, or is there something I need to be doing to help my riding comfort level? I know I made some mistakes today. I'm open to any suggestions because I really want to get comfortable with this.

·
Registered
739 Posts
I live on the Atlantic coast.. in New England... when we get a Northeast storm.. it always seems to blow wet nasty weather in for at least 3 days.. I just ended up being out in it and did it..I am careful.. but not to the point of creating problems for myself.. too careful can do that..

·
Registered
119 Posts