Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am in the market for a new (2014 model) Suzuki 400 Burgmann OR a GW250. Intended use is 100% commuting. My nearest Suzuki dealer is 80 miles from home, so that when buying I will have to use (as brand new) either of those bikes on the highway.

The burgmann surpasses the GW250 (mostly called Inazuma in other countries) in MPG, distance autonomy and of course, being automatic. but dependability is an important factor for me.

When browsing through this forum I noticed some recurring issues with the scooter that doesn't seem to (yet) appear on the GW250 on its own specialized forums, mainly the CVT and the 4500rpm event.

Some questions:

- Would you recommend a brand new 400 burgmann to a complete newbie? (I have not ridden neither a bike or a scooter in my life)
- Are the aforementioned issues with the 400 still present in the newest models?
- Is the burgy a maintenance nightmare?

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
- the burg 400 is the largest bike I'd recommend for a first bike. Personally I like to see six months on something smaller. But I also recommend getting the biggest bike you think you can handle. Your physical size is a part of this. Man-handling a 475 lbs bike is easier for a six foot, 200 lbs person, than a five foot 125 person. The latter can do it, just takes a little getting used to.

And a New bike? Absolutely NOT. You will drop the bike in the first six months. Almost guaranteed. New bikes are for experienced riders. Plus you get much better deals used.

- the cvt issue is not limited to the burg 400. Many, many scoots are. It's called "Glazing". It happens when the clutch pads get excessive heat and the material "glazes". Same thing happens to overused brake pads in cars and trucks. It's not a big deal. The glaze can be sanded off and the excess material blown out. My local shop charges $40.