Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 250 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I draw all AN650 owners to my "worn out" primary spline at 37,000 km (approx 22,000 miles). There is dioalogue at the Burgman 650 section under CVT belt reliability on this site which you may like to read. The diesel noise may just be the death throes of an imminent failure. I have left an email message at the Australian Suzuki site but after 38 hours have not received any reply. I plan to make verbal contact tomorrow Friday 13 and ask for a commiement for assistance or denial. There are 4 primary pulley assemblies in Aus at the moment. I plan to get hold of one and fit it, to get my scoot on the road again (my labour). If I don't get what I consider reasonable assistance from Suzuki Australia, I plan to write a full report and send it to motorcycle magazines in Australia (and to this site), fix, then sell the Burgie and probably buy a Silverwing. I am an experienced tech writer, engineer and magazine editor, so I have the tools and contacts. I will send a step-by-step report with photos of my repairs for you all to read. Someone needs to stand up and demand compensation, for what I perceive to be a problem in engine design or assembly, otherwise, your scoots resale value may be severely reduced. :bom:

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Pics of my AN650' s primary shaft adapter and what's left of the primary shaft spline (input to CVT) at approx 37,000 km are a bit scary. Note the dryness of the cavity for the adaptor and that of the adapter (unwashed) - looks like it may have been assembled dry to me (no Suzuki Super Grease A as per the Service Manual, Page 5-24).

Attachments

·
Registered
3,899 Posts
The "Dieseling noise" is a well known and documented fact since day one on the 650, especially on the k3 models.
There were a handful of reports early on of some failures and Suzuki redesigned the part and started replacing it in mid year o4.