Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.Im new at this forum.What a great sight for Burgman fans !!
Ive put money down on a 2005 blue Burgman 650 just waiting for delivery.
can hardly wait !!
Ive been riding motorcycles for about 25 years. My last one was a "yamaha Venture royale" 1100cc.Nice bike but cumbersome.Now im looking for something really fun for me and my girlfriend.
Living in colorado im alittle concerned about power in the mountains when riding to up.Any thoughts on this?

Thanks.
zapcrt

·
Registered
355 Posts
The wife and I ride two up quite often with no problems on the steep inclines.

Welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
30,277 Posts
Welcome to the BurgmanUSA forums zapcrt. Glad to have you join us.

There's always a few power hounds that always want more... but most riders, including those that came from bigger bikes, say the 650 has plenty of get up and go. I don't think you'll be disappointed in the 650 Burgman. :)

·
Premium Member
4,919 Posts
Welcome zapcrt. Just hook up some nitrous oxide and then you'll simply FLY up those steep grades!! 8)
vr,
Pete

·
Registered
5,363 Posts
Dave,

Power mode works great is the slower tighter mountain twisties. For higher speed sweeping curves, Auto mode works just fine. Once you get used to the 650, you will find that it is much easier to ride in the mountains than that Venture was. The 650 has almost as much torque as horsepower, which helps in those conditions. It also has lots of engine braking. It is a great choice for that type of riding.

·
Registered
3,322 Posts
Greetings and welcome to the forum. You won't have any problems with power. I would also bet that your partner will be more comfortable on the 650 as well.

·
Registered
3,411 Posts
Greetings, Zapcrt. Welcome to the ICOBO.

I haven't done any two-up mountain riding, but I have done a lot of solo riding: the Cascades, Olympics, Siskyous, etc.