Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all you Burgman enthusiasts from your newest and 1000th member. I am David in Hawaii. i am about to acquire a new '04 650! I have been riding for 43 years and have owned over 20 bikes of all kinds. Currently I have two extremes -- a Honda Elite 80 scoot and an '02 Indian Chief.

I applaud the members of this forum for providing the friendliest of all forums I have experienced. Although there is a bit of "pimping" in replies, there is a real sense of caring -- for example the very warm welcome extended to all newcomers. I have gained a lot of enthusiasm for the Burgman scooters and lots of knowledge by following this forum for the past couple of weeks.

I recently rode the 400 at the local dealer and, after studying the comments on this forum and realizing my love of bigger, more powerful machines, I am convinced the 650 is for me.... at least until there is a 750 or 1000 Burgman someday! :p

I just talked to the local dealer today and they have a new black 650 still in the crate. He wanted the MSRP PLUS his usual $800 or so add ons. After suggesting I would be better off to buy one on the mainland at a good price and ship it over, he finally offerd me about $1000 off the MSRP plus the add ons for an out the door price of $7615. Although I see a dealer on cycletrader.com with a price of $6575 it would probably cost me about $1000 to ship it over here, so I am probably going to go with the local dealer. Unfortunately, I will essentially be paying full price for a year old model. I would love to get an '05, but they may not be here til late April, and that is a lot of happy miles down the road! :wink:

I would love to hear others' opinions on whether they think I could do any better on getting one to Hawaii and how people like the black 650's -- the color now available at my dealer.