Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On a Scooter no less!

Now I need to pass the written test, but I am closer!

I'm a newbie here although I have lurked for a while before signing up. Exceptional forum for information on the Burgman. I am located in Oregon but will soon be moving to the DC Area so have been looking for a small easy commute vehicle. I am very excited about the Burgman. I am hoping to look at the 400 and the 650 next week just to get a comparison of size! Hard to get a feel from the internet ....

I may have some stupid newbie questions so please bear with me. I'll try the search function first though, but it has been 25 years since I have been on a motorized 2 wheel vehicle so I may have some general rider questions as well moving forward.

Thanks in advance and it is nice to meet everyone.

BK

P.S. I REALLY think a scooter specific class is a good idea. There are definitely some differences between the CVT scoot and a manual motorbike! And I think some different techniques would be more appropriate ... oh well. Passing was the goal and I'll learn the rest from experience and asking you all!

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
I'd seriously recommend, if you're Burgman bound, the 400. It's MUCH easier to ride and more forgiving for the uninitiated. The throttle, handling and weight is much more manageable than the 650. It is very capable and will meet all your needs, without the intimidation of a big bike. I ride my 400 exclusively for 7 years and loved it.

One of the biggest problems I see with new riders, scooter especially, is over confidence. "They got it... " Until they don't got it. Scooters are deceptively easy to ride. Twist and go. Until You hit patch of sand, or a decreasing radius turn or a bump that makes your handle bars gyrate back and fourth. And 60 mph is 60 mph not matter what you're riding. It is better get a bike you can more easily handle.