Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for some advice. In my first post, I stated that I am a complete motorcycle novice looking to get his first bike. I decided that I want to get a Burgman. I was advised to look at other scooters and maybe a used one to learn on first. I'm in the process of getting my temp license and am taking the MSF course in August. I was out driving today and saw a 2002 Honda Reflex for sale. It has 7,500 miles and the owner was asking $2,700 OBO. I stopped to look at it and it seemed in good condition, but there were scratches along the muffler. I haven't called the phone number yet, so I don't know if the bike has been dumped (or if they would even tell me if it was!) I would hate to get a new Burgman only to dump it myself while learning on it, so I thought this may be a good scooter to learn on and then get the Burgman later. I wanted to know if anyone can tell me if they would recommend a Reflex as a first bike to learn on, and whether or not the $2,700 is a decent price (Obviously, I will try to negotiate down). Also, being a novice, are there any questions I should ask the owner or things to look for on the bike that would be a sign of a potential problem? Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
5,363 Posts
It would be a plus if they have service records and can prove that the scoot was properly maintained. It would also be good if they give you a believable explanation of how the scratches got on the muffler. Once you know the year of manufacture, you can go to NADAguides.com to get an idea of value. If you have not ridden before, starting off on something like that is a great idea. If you buy it right, you can ride it for a year and then sell it without losing much. I would also recommend that you look into taking a MSF Beginner's riding course.

·
Registered
1,002 Posts