Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
794 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a Mech Engr, I am just an Elec Engr (my career - retired now for 19 years). Just to,let you know I am not Mech Qualified. :-( I have some basic knowledge of issues with Torqued Nuts (thread stress, cleanliness, etc. and that is it.

I have been in E Mail Conversation with a MC Buddy that is a retired Mech Engr (Was involved with big cranes mostly). We discussed the Torque Issues on the Shaft Nut for the Variator End of the CVT Pulley on Burgman 400, and the fact there have been issues of the nut coming lose.,

I don't understand the tech of all this (links he sent are Technical and complicated). However, it becomes critical to do it right (guess we luck out by doing it half right). :confused:

By The Way, the washer on my Burgman 400 (2011) appeared pretty much like a flat washer to me (I guess I expected to see more of a curve or bend giving a spring load effect). Anyway, I made sure it went back on with the side of he washer oriented as they were when I took it off. (Paint was OUT BOARD). Plus, I tightened the Nut snug with regular wrench and then worked my way up from 50FTLB to 75FTLB (partly to check or get a feel for the Torque Wrench - a Harbor Freight that I have not calibrated and to test my Fin Fan Hold Tool)

Including pictures of my "TOOL". Crude, but worked. Would use stiffer board and design so could switch to other side for Nut Removal (as it is - interfered with the center kickstand if on the other side). I made it work here by using the 2x4 and kneeling on the 2x4 when removing the nut. It worked in the position with out the board for tightening the nut (as tighten CW).

OK - Here is what friend sent.

If shaft nut backing off is an issue at 75 ft-lb tightening torque, I doubt if Plumbers Goop would help.