Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Purchased new in June 2014 from dealer.At a cruising speed of 55 to 60mph a steady howl can be heard coming from the rear of the scooter.Slightly closing the throttle eliminates most of the noise.It sounds like a worn or failing bearing.
Dealer tech says its just a Burgman being a Burgman.This is my first scooter,I have been riding motor cycles since 1965,mostly Gold Wings and an Harleys.I have about 1600 miles on the scooter.The dealer doesn't have another scooter I could try to see if the noise is common in the 2013 650 scooters.I would be interested in hearing from other owners if they are experiencing the same noise or is the dealer just trying to avoid fixing it.Other than this problem I am very satisfied with the scooter.If you did have the same problem and your dealer repaired it or you fixed it yourself I would like to know what part failed so I could repair it if it becomes necessary.Thanks to all who respond.

·
Premium Member
14,257 Posts
The gears in the final drive on the 650 are straight cut and they produce the characteristic whine that you often get from straight cut gears. That is possibly what you are hearing but it's hard to say for sure without hearing yours run.

I would check the fluid level in both the final drive and the transmission to make sure they both have oil in them. If they do not then I would be going back to the dealer. If they have been running without oil then you will want to have the bearings replaced while they are in warranty. Especially the ones in the transmission because to get to them the engine has to be pulled and taken apart.

·
Registered
347 Posts