Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im sure this has been talked about before, but I am new to it. Just recently got a 08 Burgman 400. When I got it home, there is a burning smell coming from the rear on the muffler side. Bike runs fine, but there is like a "barking" sound occasionally at take off. Could the 2 be related? Bike only has 2400 miles on it. Any help greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
73 Posts
I think a set of ear plugs and a colonoscopy will fix your problems. Ha ha! Sorry, but anyway I would let a good m/c mechanic look at it, preferably a Suzuki dealer.

·
Registered
3,396 Posts
Somebody may cook someth inside your exhaust if bike has stood for a long time.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Bike has 2400 miles. I just cleaned the CVT filter, it was pretty dirty. Could that cause the bike to run hot? My temperature guage on dash is always about in the middle.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Never had CVT case open, took cover off that was about it. Not real confident in working on this thing:)

·
Registered
133 Posts
i too have the 08 400. when mine was new it made a squalling sound but never had any smell. after several thousand miles the sound went away. i took it back to the dealer and told me that it was nothing that would strand me on the side of the road.
not familiar with the smell though.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
It is missing the heat shield off the exhaust, that may be part of it. Cause I would think that would direct some of the heat/fumes downward.

·
Registered
1,468 Posts
The "barking" sound may just be not giving enough throttle on takeoff. If you don't use enough throttle when you takeoff the clutch can "bark" until the clutch fully engages. Try more throttle when you start off and see if it's smoother. After you get going then adjust your throttle to your speed.

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
How many miles on it?