Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks. I am the complete newbie. My career has dominated my life for many years and I have ended up in my 50's with zero hobbies. My kids are getting older and my job has changed so that I have more free time now - but I have nothing to fill it.

I saw a friend post something about a scooter on a FB page. It caught my eye. I had a Vespa scooter WAY back in college when I could not afford gas. I really enjoyed riding that thing despite its lack of power (and the fact that I live in a state where it gets freaking cold for much of the year). Anyway, the notion of a scooter caught my attention & I started looking online about them. I found the Burgman scooters and they sound exactly like what I think I would enjoy.

So, I am here poking around. I really don't *go* anywhere even in a car these days except to go to/from the airport once every couple weeks. I haven't figured out how I would do that on a Burgman, but maybe that isn't the purpose either. :D

Thanks for letting me join you.

Ross

·
Registered
3,142 Posts
Welcome and are you rural or urban.

The Burgmans in general bear no resemblance to your memories which are city scoots.

You are really entering into the full sized two wheeled world...which can take you across country in comfort and style or be the easiest urban commuter available.

This was the review that got me into the maxi-scoot category
http://www.onewheeldrive.net/2006/10/04/scoot-touring-the-honda-silverwing-and-suzuki-burgman/

But the Burgman 650 is no learner bike....it will stay in the hunt with most middle weights and trounce not a few.

The riders here are very experienced in general..they can all help you decide the correct machine which may not be a Burgman at all.

I ride 3 different machines --- many here have multiple rides.

The more you tell us ...the better the community can help.

·
Registered
857 Posts