Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:wink: Hi all, I've been scooting and loving it for the past 1 1/2 years on my derestricted Vino 50 w/Stage One upgrades (50+mph). I am looking for a bigger scooter and have some questions. I am only 5' tall therefore lots of scooter are too tall for me. The Honda Reflex and the Burgman 400 have low enough seats. Are any of you out there short, especially women?
I'm wondering if the Burgman 400 will be easy to handle for a small person. I am pretty strong for my size. I plan to do some 2 up riding with my husband but usually will ride alone. I have never done interstate driving and wonder about the safety factor. Any advice will be much appreciated.

·
Registered
969 Posts
Beth,
My wife is 5'2" and handles the 650 just fine (though she looks like a little kid on it from behind :D ). Take off 2" off seat height on the 400, and nearly anyone can flat foot it (even flat feet it!).
Steve

·
Registered
2,385 Posts
Even with out being strong the 400 is no problem to handle. The 400 is very road worthy I have no problem doing 70 mph (indicated 75) for a tank full, fill up and do it again.
But around town and secondary roads is were it really shines. :)

·
Registered
5,363 Posts
Beth,

Welcome to BurgmanUSA! I think you'd do fine on a Burgman 400. We do have some shorter gals riding them & I'm sure they'll respond to your inquiry. The only recent complaint I remember is that the stock windshield was too tall. I believe that was from Diane who goes by "Bikinbiddy" on the forum. She is working on reducing the windshield height by 3" so that she can see over it. A while ago someone else was also concerned with getting both her feet flat on the ground. Riding boots with higher soles was an option she was looking into.