Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G'day All, I've been thinking about a 2011 650 burgman first registered in jan 2012 ie 2months warrantee remaining (providing all the required services have been done at the required time) 27000 kms,16500 miles, what should I check, any particular noises that mean trouble etc Regards Paul

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
I'm not an expert in such things, perhaps other, more mechanically knowledgable riders could chime in, but...

Smooth operation, instant start up, oil color (should be dark golden, not black), usual stuff. The engine should have a very nice "whirl" to it when you take off. With the transmission noise, its been described as almost like a low rpm jet engine. At highway speed, you should not hear the engine at all, almost, except when accelerating.

When decelerating the transmission gears will have a similar, higher pitched whirl.

In "Power" mode, acceleration should be crisp as well as have a very pronounced engine deceleration. You should have no troubles surpassing any vehicle in this mode. 0-60 mph in 7 seconds I believe.

In Regular "drive" mode the ride should be a good deal more pleasant, and acceleration and deceleration not so pronounced. More of a Sunday drive feel to it. The clutch will stay engaged until 10mph when slowing, then you'll feel the clutch release and a nice coasting affect.

The brakes should be equally powerful. Try a hard stop, when safe. You should feel very confident in its stopping distance.

The speedometer is a reported 8-10% high. There should be no sputters, or jitters or popping sounds, just smooth, controlled operations, like a well healed luxury sports sedan.

Now, I've only had my 650 for a few months and only have a few thousand on the clock, but those are my impressions. Perhaps a high mileage rider can give more insight.