Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I just discovered this awesome website last night and spent 6 hours pouring through all the great material (until 1:30 am). I saw my first Burgman last week at a nearby shopping center and knew, that at least on a emotional level, I found my next bike. But I needed some more input before making any decisions.

I looked at the Canadian and American Suzuki websites, and although I could get basic information, I could not find any of the real answers that I needed (like how do your service the thing or what does it look like without it's skin?). But I have found those answers and more here. It's simply amazing how much information that is on this site and how well everyone seems to want to help and encourage each other.

My wife and I have been waffling for a couple of years now between a Honda Goldwing or a HD Ultra-Classic . We liked both bikes a lot, but living on Vancouver Island means that we can't easily take long trips unless part of the day is spent on the ferry to the B.C. mainland.

In the days before our kids arrived (20 years ago), we would take a month off and tour the country side with our bike and trailer, but now we only have a couple of days off at a time, so it just didn't seem very sensible to spend $30,000 for what would be (most of the time) a short-haul bike. Yet, we wanted something comfortable for these middle-aged butts that could go the distance if we went up-island or maybe even further afield to Alberta or Washington State.

From what I can gleen from this website, the Burgman AN-650 seems to be the answer to my prayers. Inexpensive, comfortable and very versatile. At least now, when I go to the local dealer (who doesn't have a 650 at the moment), I will know what I am talking about.