Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started riding in 1971. I had some financial difficulties 8 years ago. So, the new Harley Road King had to go. Today, I just picked up a 2014 leftover Burgman 400. It is going to take some getting used to. I keep wanting to press the clutch and shift. Also, being almost 67 years old, I wanted something easy to handle so I can continue to ride in my 70's.

I don't understand why they make such high seat heights in scooters. I can get the balls of my feet only on the ground as I'm 5' 7" and 170 pounds. I got the bike with the lower seat, which didn't seem to make any difference whatsoever. It was a complete waste of money ($429). I also had the dealer lower the rear spring to half way, which also didn't seem to make any difference. Maybe I will lower the rear spring to it lowest point since I only ride 1 up.

It was in the forties today in the Northeast. I was half frozen by the time I got home. Tomorrow they are predicting snow flurries. So, the bike will stay in the garage for another week or so.

John

·
Registered
413 Posts
You will love the Burgman 400. Congrat's on your purchase!

I have put 43,000 blissful miles on mine and it still makes me smile every-time I ride it.
I also have two other bikes, a little Suzuki GZ250 cruiser and a Honda Helix Scooter. To be honest my Honda Helix scooter would be perfect for you ergonomically, but its top speed is 83mph on a good day, 78 or so realistically. If you could live with that its much lighter and lower than the Burgman. However one thing I would suggest is to move the back rest forward to force yourself to sit closer to the front of the seat.

Give it some time and I bet you'll get used to it.

Again congrats! It's a great scoot!

·
Registered
1,468 Posts