Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an old m/c designer (originally manufactured MotorMate touring trailers), and am now driving a 650 Burgman. I miss a good sound system and years ago, was in the accessory design/manufacturing trade. I've got a design I'm finishing up, to house an am/fm/cd player in the area between the handlebars. I've designed a new plastic housing that will replace the existing factory piece so installation should be a 30 minute job, complete with speakers, wiring and power. Do you guys think there is enough interest here to offer this to the public? I am NOT trying to sell these here, just testing the waters to see if it justifies the molding/engineering costs.
jac

·
Super Moderator
8,083 Posts
Radio

Yup, need more info with pics. if possible.

thanks in advance

Jim

·
Registered
3,323 Posts
Hey there Jac and welcome to the board. I'm interested but as Jim says a few pics would help. I'm having problems visualizing what you have in mind between the bars. Would it obstruct the view of the dash?

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'll have some design pics available soon. I'm working on the prototype, with the idea on producing them. I'll post a link to some pics as soon as I get a little further down the process. Basically I know what it'll look like. Imagine a "web" (for lack of a better word) or "box" between the "V" formed by the handle bars. Within the box is the sound system. It'll be a 10 minutes operation to remove the original handlebar "casing" and replace it with a new "casing" which contains the radio combo. I'll probably be ready to show something within the next 2-4 weeks.

·
Registered
857 Posts
I'm interested

in your invention. I am considering mounting a cd player/radio in the trunk with a wire to headphones, but haven't had the time to tinker around yet. This weekend is a motorcycle expo that I hope to attend and see what is "out there."