Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!
I discovered the forum just last week and joined only yesterday.

I've been riding only since Feb. '05. Went down for my learner's permit while waiting for delivery of my first scooter, a Yamaha Vino 125 '05. My husband and I had been joking about getting a scooter for a couple of years (can't even remember who or what started it now), and finally decided to check it out. We were thinking of a little 50cc Vespa for me to putter around on, but a sportbike rider here at work showed me some other scooters on Web sites and changed my mind.

I took the beginning MSF course in early March. By then, my husband had bought a Yamaha Majesty '05 from the same dealer, and we were both licensed and riding together soon after. After I was nearly run over by an aggressive cager who didn't think I needed an entire lane while we were all stopped in traffic, my husband began working on me to get a bigger scoot. I loved my rose-burgundy Vino and felt pretty good riding it, so I was reluctant, and used the excuse that the Majesty or Burgman "didn't come in red." I stopped by the dealer for something or other and gave him the same line, but their Burgman 400 Type S had just arrived, and he took me out and pointed out how red it is. My first thought was "It's huge!" But I liked its sporty looks, and... it's RED. And yes, I admit that the thought of being able to go over 50 mph up a slight hill and thus anywhere I wanted to go did have its appeal.