Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
They say it didn't happen if there aren't pictures. So here is a picture of Lucille. We had our first real ride today. She loves me. Love this forum by the way. I have already learned a lot.

I am a true motorcycle novice so excuse any stupid questions. I am sure there will be lots of them.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,142 Posts
Congrats and welcome but that's a **** of a set of training wheels.

Watch your use of front brake on slow turns....it'll put you over in a heart beat.

Practice coming to a stop smoothly with your wheels straight using both brakes. Concentrate on that aspect and once stopped and stable...THEN look to see cross traffic etc.
Some intersections and places like fuel stops have odd cambers and the 650 will feel fine as long as it has a bit of speed....slow and on angles it becomes gnarly.

Get some long saddle time on country roads with little traffic and lots of stop signs to practice.
The twisty carving will come later .....

Riding the Burgman 650 is pretty effortless but it's a heavy powerful machine and can get you in trouble quick if you over cook into corners.
In slow and power out.

Have fun - best all around machine I've owned in 45 years of riding.

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
I concur with MacDoc, heck of a first set of wheels. It's deceptively easy to ride. You'll gain confidence quickly, but don't get cocky, it will bite.

It's throttle is not very forgiving. Learn to go slow on it in a parking lot. Make a habit of always covering the rear brake (ie have your hand on it) and don't be afraid to use it. Try power braking, giving a little bit of throttle and rear brake at the same time. You can go really slow with this technique and can help moderate your speed. Just a little trick to know.

There's a lot to learn. Have fun doing it! Safely. And congratulations.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)