Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

I'm brand new to the motorcycle/scooter scene. I've never ridden before & haven't the slightest idea on how to go about this.

So, here's my story:
Originally I was looking at getting an old Goldwing (86-89). They can be had for good prices & in good condition. After more research I found that they get only 5-7 miles per gallon more than my Saab. Seeing that defeats a major reason I wanted a bike, I looked elsewhere. Next was the Silverwing, but after reading more about the "super-scoots" I found out about the Burgman. Now after lurking here for a few hours, I'm sold.

The only problem is, I'm clueless on how to ride one. :D

How should I go about this? Should I be taking motorcycle classes somewhere before I go to the dealership to look at a Burgman? What kind of classes would I need, and where can I take them?

Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
13,278 Posts
I HIGHLY advise taking the Motorcycle Safety Foundation's Beginner Rider Course. It will teach you the basic skills required to safely ride a motorcycle. In addiation, most insurance companies offer a discount (10%) on your bikes insurance and most states do not require you to take the written or riding tests (vision test is still often required) to get your motorcycle license if you present your certificate showing you passed the course. Check with your local DMV to verifiy your states acceptance of the MSF BRC certificate in place of testing.

Although some of the skills taught do not apply to scooters (clutch, gears, footbrake), the BRC course does teach all the fundimentals of scooter riding. The transition from motorcycle to scooter is an easy one. Any rider (even those who have been riding for years) learn something new when taking the course.

For more information, see :
http://msf-usa.org/

·
Registered
3,323 Posts