Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone..I'm in the process of buying either an 08 Burgman 400 with 13,600 miles for 3000 or a 2012 400 Burg ABS for 5000 with 180 miles. I'm new to riding so I'm not sure if ABS is something I should spend the extra dough on as well as lower miles and a newer bike. Or go for the 08 knowing some maintenance is coming up (new tires though), more mileage but almost half the price. All opinions will be appreciated
Thanks

·
Registered
3,142 Posts
Always ABS - especially a new rider.
If you can afford the newer machine - you will not regret it.

·
Registered
207 Posts
+1 My recommendation is to always buy ABS for a public street-ridden machine. Streets have such varied traction surfaces and unexpected surprises. It more than pays for itself if it saves you even once. There are probably are people who really can brake shorter on non-ABS bikes under controlled conditions. But I would bet on an ABS-equipped monkey after riding a long day out on random roads and in all sorts of weather.

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
2 yrs ago I bought a 2011 400 with 130 miles on it. I got it for the ABS. It is worth paying for. Today it has 43K on it.

13.6K is not very much mileage. If saving 2K will significantly impact your life, then you will not be disappointed with the 08. Depending on how much you will ride you are coming up on a new belt and tires which, if you do all the work yourself, will run you around $350. If you have it done, it'll be somewhat more.

Were it me, I'd get the ABS.

·
Registered
1,116 Posts