Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie – just here, not to riding. It's always been motorcycles, from the Honda 50cc 'trail bike' of pre-drivers license time, or the Honda 350 of my early 20's or the dirt bikes of the 30's and the road bikes, up to and including an Aspencade of the 40's and then a cruiser style in the late 50's and a BMW GS in my early 60's. Now... it seems a scooter may well be on the way for my next adventures.

Just two years ago (June 2013) I could have easily died when a car driver “did not see him” and illegally made a u-turn in front of my GS. I was watching a loose dog on the side of the road as it seemed at the time that the dog was erratic enough in its movements that it might run out in front of my bike – so I did not even see the guy start his turn – there was no cross street – just a wide spot where he could easily make a u-ie.

45 MPH – T-boned his small car in the middle of the passenger side. An off-duty county sheriff was the 3rd car back from me and his report says I flew 45-50 feet and then rolled/tumbled another 45-50 feet. Bike totaled of course.

Last memory is looking at the dammd dog and beginning to shift focus back ahead – first memory is telling the paramedic that was cutting off my riding gear that my back hurt – a lot!

So... presuming that it took 8-10 minutes for the paramedics to respond, I've got no memory of any of it. There was no awareness of pain until I woke, so I suspect that's just about the same as being dead – no awareness. Glad I'm not dead. That would have been a drag, going to your own funeral and all that cremating and ashes scattering stuff. But, that's for another day (hopefully) far into the future.