Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Sponsored Editorial Content
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

We know that you MOrons are a diverse bunch, but we really want to know what kinds of motorcycles you’ve all owned. In fact, we’re sure that you come in as many shapes and sizes as motorcycles do. So, we decided to do a little investigating – just for yucks. So, humor us, if you will, take a look at the survey, and vote for all the kinds of bikes you’ve owned.
Read more about the MO Survey: What Types Of Motorcycles Have You Owned? at Motorcycle.com.

·
Registered
2,787 Posts
I have been riding for over 55 years and never knew what the "official" bike classifications were--they ones I know are:

• "big iron";
  • 'Jap wan'na be big iron";
  • "Jap touring bikes";
  • "crotch rockets";
  • "UJM" -- Universal Japanese Motorcycles and other odd-ball bikes they make for who knows what market;
  • "dirt bikes";
  • "serious scooters" (250cc+);
  • "toy scooters, mopeds, minibikes and the like";
I have owned at least one or more of each except a hard-core crotch rocket--though I had an '87 V-Max that came close...

·
Registered
939 Posts
I have been riding for over 55 years and never knew what the "official" bike classifications were--they ones I know are:

• "big iron";
    'Jap wan'na be big iron";
    "Jap touring bikes";
    "crotch rockets";
    "UJM" -- Universal Japanese Motorcycles and other odd-ball bikes they make for who knows what market;
    "dirt bikes";
    "serious scooters" (250cc+);
    "toy scooters, mopeds, minibikes and the like";
I have owned at least one or more of each except a hard-core crotch rocket--though I had an '87 V-Max that came close...
Think this list is on point but with all these companies like HD making for bikes for the lighter woman, there are some added categories.

Little big iron
Pull up your skirt big iron
And so on...