Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was dragging my left foot while making a slow U-turn on a asphalt road surface covered with loose gavel. Just as I was straightening out and accelerating my left foot wedged in between the road and the side stand peg. The heel of my boot pushed into the side stand and the toe compressed against the moving road surface.

Had I not been wearing AlpineStar MC boots I'm sure there was enough force to collapse the sole of a reg shoe and crush my foot. The MC boot soles were too stiff to be compressed and the back of the boot did a great job protecting my heel. After my boot popped out of the compression wedge and I started riding away I realized this would have been really bad had I been wearing hiking boots or sneakers. ATGATT.

· Registered
332 Posts
I was dragging my left foot while making a slow U-turn on a asphalt road surface covered with loose gavel. Just as I was straightening out and accelerating my left foot wedged in between the road and the side stand peg. The heel of my boot pushed into the side stand and the toe compressed against the moving road surface.

Had I not been wearing AlpineStar MC boots I'm sure there was enough force to collapse the sole of a reg shoe and crush my foot. The MC boot soles were too stiff to be compressed and the back of the boot did a great job protecting my heel. After my boot popped out of the compression wedge and I started riding away I realized this would have been really bad had I been wearing hiking boots or sneakers. ATGATT.
I had a very similar near miss with the sidestand that was similarly alarming only because I didn't expect such a thing to happen. Fortunately, I also had a strong boot that prevented anything other than the surprise. But it really made me think, wow, how the heck did that just happen?