Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
724 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 14 miles stretch of highway (I-95) from my home to my exit for work. The average speed on this stretch is about 80 mph (actual).

My Burg 400 seems to have a top end at 8900 RPM of around 84-85 mph (actual, not indicated speed). Once the Burg engine is broken in properly would it be safe to run the 400 at an indicated 8900 RPM for 14 miles to work? Of course, I would be running at 8900 RPM on the way home as well.

I realize that my Burg can easily do 75 (actual) with no problems but what would be the MAX speed to avoid any engine damage on the highway? Would you limit the RPM to 8500? 8700?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,113 Posts
I'm not a mechanic but I've been told that the motor is designed to run up to red line without any problems at all. Once you go beyond that, you're on your own.

·
Registered
3,396 Posts
14 miles sustained? I thought for maniac that should be at least triple digits mileage :) Just kidding -- think 14 smiles is perfectly OK for a run-in engine.

But that's what the sliders are for. With 18g actual 85 mph is achieved at ~8000. The safe cruising speed (> 100 miles) imo is under 75 actual.

·
Registered
3,396 Posts
80 on the speedo is exactly under 75 actual -- the speed i consider safe for a longer haul :)

·
Registered
4,876 Posts
I've run near red line many times for extended periods (hours) and have not had a problem. Couple times a day for 10 minutes each, shouldn't be a problem.

·
Registered
724 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Just remember to keep an eye on your oil level. Mine seems to use oil when I travel at high speeds for extended periods.

Thanks. At an actual 83 mph (91 indicated on the speedo) the 400 is just below the red line. My plan will be to use the tachometer more than the speedometer for my 14 mile highway jaunts. I am one 400 owner who is glad we have a tachometer on the Burg 400 for this very reason.

·
Registered