Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been lurking around as an unregistered user since March when I got my 2005 650. I've learned so much from this community I decided to join it for real! :)

I'm Mercedes, I'm from northeast Illinois and I eat, sleep, and breathe all things with a motor and wheels. I picked up a Burgman 650 back in March and whenever it works without giving me trouble it's easily one of my favourite of my 7 bikes. It has 79,xxx miles on the odometer with the current engine/trans unit only having 40,000 miles. The original CVT failed at 78,000 miles. Previous owner decided to just replace the unit rather than repair the CVT.

I work with computers for a living and work on cars for fun, so motorcycle DIY is fun and easy to me.

My Burgie first started giving me trouble the day I bought it. I bought it in Allentown PA and was to ride it back home to Illinois. I made it to the western edge of Pennsylvania before the rear tire decided holding air was too hard of a job. I ended up hauling it the rest of the way home in the back of a U-Haul.

For those 300 or so miles though? Loved every minute. These scoots have effortless power and sometimes I found myself cracking triple digits if I wasn't paying attention. It's way more comfortable than my old 1980 Goldwing was.

I've been spending most of spring and summer away from home, so the scooter sat for about three months without being ridden. I finally took it out three weeks ago and it's kinda been rough riding.

On the first day I made it about 10 miles from home before it started hiccuping on takeoff, eventually triggering the FI light and running poorly. I thought maybe I forgot to use fuel stabilizer, so I got fresh fuel. No change.

I got home and through this forum I learned the coils can come off the plugs, so I made sure to push both down extra hard. It rode the next 130 miles without issue.