Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a complete and unapologetic newb when it comes to any sort of motor bike. I just picked up my used '05 Burgman 650 and I am still learning all of its features and maintenance issues. While checking the oil I found three tubes that just hang under the bike. Are they supposed to be attached to something? There are no obvious fittings that are missing tubes and I could find no mention in the owner’s manual. Any help here would be appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
8,071 Posts
I believe
1 is for the fuel overflow
the others are for pressure venting of the drive train.

It should be like that.

·
Registered
3,411 Posts
Close.

I think two are for fuel system venting. Not descibed in the Owner's Manual, but the Service Manual goes into detail about where they are, which direction the valves in them have to face to work properly, etc.

(The testing of the valves is really high tech: pull them off the tubes and blow into them. ;) )

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Now I know I am missing something important from my 650! I got the owners manual for my "pre-loved" Burgman but no Service Manual. This sounds like a very important document for me to have.

·
Registered
5,363 Posts
RED L.E.D. ELDER said:
Now I know I am missing something important from my 650! I got the owners manual for my "pre-loved" Burgman but no Service Manual. This sounds like a very important document for me to have.
I am not sure that I'm interpreting your comment correctly. But if you are thinking that the service manual comes with a new scooter, that is not the case. You do have to purchase the service manual separately. You are right about the importance of having one. It is a worthwhile investment.

·
Registered
5,363 Posts
gruntled said:
One may be attached to the battery. I believe it may be to vent hydrogen
gas.