Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been hanging around BUSA for several months now, gathering info and making a post now and then. I'm in it for the long haul now. My local dealer called early this afternoon and said the truck dropped of my new 2005 650 Burgman this morning. They asked me if I would like to pick it up late this afternoon. Of course I said YES!!! All I have to say is that I am VERY IMPRESSED.
The Details: Silver 2005 Burgman 650. Price $6799 plus tax and title fees ( my little local dealer was very kind to me).
Impressions from the ride home: 64 MPH in normal mode = 4000RPM. 64MPH in power mode = 5100+ RPM. Seems to me that on the earlier model that I drove the RPM's were somewhat higher at that speed? Also the 2005 doesn't seem to have nearly as much engine braking as the earlier one (barely as much as my wife's Silverwing). Compared to the Silverwing: the Burg feels and is larger and has better wind protection, engine is smoother and more powerful but the Burg's ride is a little harsher.
Well I have rambled on long enough.
Did I say I'm VERY IMPRESSED? and HAPPY!!!!

·
Premium Member
4,919 Posts
Please - Do Ramble! We are all "05 model info starved."

Very very cool! 8) Awesome ride. You'll dig it. I read a recent post from a fellow ICOBO-er (posted from the eukrane i believe) that they've supossedly lowered the friction ratio (or something like that) on/in the ECVT on the 05s for "easier drivability" - again just trying to remember/paraphrase. That may be why it isn't so "engine-braking" sensitive!

·
Super Moderator
8,072 Posts
wrecruiser said:
Also the 2005 doesn't seem to have nearly as much engine braking as the earlier one (barely as much as my wife's Silverwing).
From another thread

Nixxon said:
According to Suzuki's Announcement, AN650A will have following features in 2005:
7. Clutch friction has been reduced by 30kg for easier operation.