Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding motorcycles since 1972 and Harley Davidsons exclusively since 1979. For various reasons I've decided to take a walk on the mild side and get a scooter. I want a Vespa PX 150 but my wife would not be comfortable on the back of that. She could barely stand the jolts from the ripped up roads on my FXR.

My question is more for the packers than the riders. Is the suspension on a 400 good enough for two up riding? Does it bottom out easily? I weigh 190lbs and my wife's about 130. Thanks !

·
Registered
66 Posts
Im 200lbs., the old ball and chain about 120lbs.
We have a set of RailRoad tracks from hell that I always hit way to fast and have not bottom out!! (my wife did bent my ear a little bit).
The 400 has a ajustment knob on the rear however I have not jacked with it. (other members need to jump in on this)
Scootboy
blue 400

·
Registered
119 Posts
I'm 220lbs, and on the occasions I've taken my eldest son on the back he's added another 200lbs, and with his sports kit under the seat too the Burg hasn't bottomed out.
It does droop at the rear when loaded though, even with the adjuster wound up to max. I've never felt it hit the bump stop, but the lowering at the rear does reduce the cornering clearance quite a bit (and sends the headlight skyward) you'll be grinding the centre stand away on even mild bends. The 400 hasn't got a lot of ground clearence to start with - I'd really like a mechanical "pre-load" collar on the rear shock to compliment the remote adjuster.
Handling (despite the reduced clearence) is still fine though, that long wheelbase and low CofG really helps, and that passenger seat is plush :)

·
Registered
572 Posts
Jim B 01930 said:
My question is more for the packers than the riders. Is the suspension on a 400 good enough for two up riding? Does it bottom out easily? I weigh 190lbs and my wife's about 130. Thanks !