Suzuki Burgman USA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone please explain to me in simple English what the integrated braking system is and how it works. I have read a little about locking up the wheels while going at slow speeds. How do you prevent this ? How do you prevent locking up the brakes at any speed with the integrated braking system? Is this braking system better than the normal front and rear braking system? I am new to motorscooter riding but I have read a little about this system and it seems that a lot of people do not care for it. Any advice would be heloful. Also, is it best to apply both brakes when stoppong a scooter?

scootervan

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
Van,

I'm going to answer your last question first. That would be a resounding YES, ALWAYS!!!

The integrated braking system exists only on the AN400's, the AN650 has discrete brakes; left grip rear brake, right grip front brake.

The 400's integrated brake system is different. The left grip controls the upper pistons on the front brake, & the rear brake simultaneously. It delivers biased braking, utilizing about 70% of the braking force to the rear & 30% to the front brakes. That is the left brake lever. (I stress that as it took me awhile to pound that through my own thick skull)

The right brake lever controls the larger surface area, lower pistons on the front brake only, providing 100% of the braking power of the right grip to the front wheel.

I have never ridden a bike with this setup, so I cannot give you first hand experience, but from what I have read here, the more experienced riders prefer the discrete braking of the 650. Thier thinking is that it gives them greater control of the braking ability of the bike. They may be right, I, as I said, have little experience in this area.